Texas Instructional Permit & Written Test
In Texas a "Learners Permit" is offically called an Instruction Permit. Texas also has a Graduated Driver Licensing program. Finally, if you are a minor in the state of Texas, you must have parental consent an prove you are have graduated or are in school to get your Instructional Permit and Provisional Driver License.
If you are under 18-years old
You must hold your Instructional Permit for at least 6-months before applying for a Provisional License. This permit doesn't have a picture and you can only practice when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21-years old, with at least 1-year of driving experience who is occupying the seat next to you and is not intoxicated, asleep or otherwise unable to supervise.
After you have successfully completed the Instructional Permit requirements and have passed your Skills Test, you will be issued a Provisional License. This is Phase Two of the Graduated Driver License program. This license has a 6-month restriction on the age and number of passengers you may carry. It also prohibits driving between midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless it is necessary for school, work or an emergency.
If you are over 18-years old
If you are between the ages of 18 and 24 you must provide proof of Adult Driver Education. You will still be issued an Instruction Permit but you do not need to hold it for 6-months prior to taking your on-road Skills Test. You will also not receive a Provisional License but instead will receive a regular driver license.
Applying for a Lerner License:
- Complete the requirements for an original applicant (see Requirements below).
- Present the driver education completion certificate. OR Present a Parental Driver Education Affidavit (DL-90A) and Classroom Instruction and Behind-the-Wheel Record (DL-91A and DL-91B) for parent taught driver education.
- Submit a Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) (CDD-104) form, or a letter from the school administrator as a substitute for the Verification of Enrollment and Attendance form. The letter must contain the same information as the VOE form.
- Obtain parental authorization (If Parent Taught Driver Education was completed, parent must be present to sign).
Requirements for a Texas Driver License:
- Apply in person at a Texas driver license office.
- Present documents that verify your identity.
- Present documents that verify you are a U.S. citizen or have lawful presence. All information on each document must match. Additional documentation may be required to verify conflicting information, incomplete names, and date of birth.
- Present proof of Social Security Number. If you do not have a Social Security Number, you must complete a Social Security Affidavit form available at the driver license office.
- Show your of Texas vehicle registrations and proof of liability insurance.
- Complete Application DL14A (download at website or pick-up at DPS). Have your parent or legal guardian sign the DL44 form.
- Give an thumb print, pass a vision test & have your picture taken.
- Pay the required fee with cash, money order, or a non-temporary check only.
- Pass traffic laws/sign test and drivng test if required.
- If you must take a driving skills test, you must also provide a vehicle for the driving exam. It must have current liability insurance, Texas vehicle registration, and pass inspection.
Remember, after completing the required training and practice, you must pass an on-road Skills Test. Remember to bring a car than will pass inspection with a Texas Proof of Insurance and a registration.