California Learners Permit & Written Test
If you are under 18-years old
If you are a minor in the state of California, you must have approved driver training and parental consent to get your Learners Permit and Provisional Driver License. The restrictions on your first license include more stringent penalties for traffic violations,crashes, cell phones and school attendance.
Prior to you visit you should:
- Be at least 15 1/2 years of age but under 18 years of age.
- Complete a Driver License Application form (DL44). The DMV does not provide the DL 44 online because original signatures are required on the form, and each DL 44 contains a unique barcode which must be scanned or keyed by the DMV employee. To obtain a DL 44 form, call DMV’s Automated Telephone Service at 1-800-777-0133 (available 24 hours a day, 7 days per week) to have a form mailed to you or visit your local DMV office to pick one up.
- Have your parent or legal guardian sign the DL44 form.
- Present acceptible birth date / legal presence documents
- Bring proof of a Social Security Number
- Provide your true full name
- Pay the application fee.
- Study for the written test with your dmvCramCourse
- Bring your Certificate of Completion or Enrollment in an approved driver education/training program.
After you arrive at the DMV you will have to:
- Present your DL44 Application and supporting documents.
- Have your Social Security Number verified,
- Pass the written test
- Pass the vision test.
- Have you picture taken.
- Give a fingerprint scan.
- Sign your name.
If you are at least 17 1/2 years of age, you may obtain a Learners Permit without completing driver education or driver training but you cannot get a license until you are 18 years old.
After completing the required training and practice, you must pass a Skills Test. Remember to bring Proof of Insurance for your on-road driving test.